Mississippi History Now Mississippi Historical SocietySite ToolsSponsorsEditorial Advisory Staff

Back Home

Illustration of hand with pen

Editorial Staff and Advisory Board


Melissa Janczewski Jones, M.S.S.
Current editor, July 2014 – present

Peggy W. Jeanes
Founding editor, July 2000 through July 2012

Historical Consultants

Deanne Stephens Nuwer, Ph.D., from 2010 to 2012
Richard Damms, Ph.D., from 2006 to 2010
Greg O’Brien, Ph.D., from 2003 to 2006
John Ray Skates, Ph.D., from 2000 to 2003

Advisory Board

Jill Beneke
Major General Joseph Fant
Richard J. Hale
H. T. Holmes
Kenneth G. McCarty Jr., Ph.D.
Mary Carol Miller
Dennis J. Mitchell, Ph.D.
Charles K. Ross, Ph.D.
Dell Scoper

Lesson Plan Developers:

Karla Smith, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
Martha Hutson, Mississippi College, from 2000 to 2010

Teacher Forum:

Julie K. Heintz, Mississippi School for Math and Science
Tom Watts, Madison Middle School

Contact the editor

Back Home Back to Top  

Mississippi Historical Society © 2000–2014. All rights reserved.